About Us

Providing leadership for the orderly and responsible development of Alberta's natural resources.

An impressive past, a responsible future

The Alberta Chamber of Resources (ACR), originally founded in 1936 as the Alberta and Northwest Chamber of Mines, is a member-driven organization involved in resource development in Alberta. ACR members include mining, energy, forestry, pipelines, power generation, utilities, minerals, transportation and construction sector companies – those that create resource-based products and that provide the diverse infrastructure, products and services essential to resource development. Among Canadian and international resource industry organizations, ACR is unique in its focus on Alberta; in bringing together companies across sectors and functions, as well as creating space for communication and collaboration among the members and between resource companies and development stakeholders.

Meet Our Board

The Alberta Chamber of Resources Board is made up of industry professionals committed to the responsible development of resources in the province of Alberta.

ACR Executive Officers

  • President
    Tom Grabowski
    President & CEO, Silvacom Group
  • Vice President
    Nadine Barber
    Vice President, Government & Public Affairs, Devon Canada Corporation
  • Past President
    Ron Kruhlak
    Partner, McLennan Ross LLP
  • Treasurer
    Randy Geislinger
    Managing Director, Energy, Corporate Banking, CIBC
  • Director Rep.
    P. Kim Sturgess
    Chief Executive Officer, Alberta WaterSMART
  • Director Rep.
    Dale Friesen
    Vice President, Indigenous & Government Relations & Sustainability, ATCO
  • Director Rep.
    Peter Read
    Vice President, Strategic Planning, Syncrude Canada Ltd.
  • Executive Director
    Neil Shelly
    Executive Director, Alberta Chamber of Resources

ACR Directors

  • Scott Waters
    Vice President, Strategic Business Development, Aecon Industrial Western
  • Brent Rabik
    Business Unit Leader, Business Development & Government Affairs, Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc.
  • Sian Barraclough
    Vice President, Commercial & Energy Management Capital Power Corporation
  • Craig Clifton
    Vice President – Alberta, Clifton Associates Ltd.
  • Thomas Smith
    Manager, Alberta, Public Affairs Corporate Services, CN Rail
  • Peter Koning
    Manager, Environmental Stewardship, ConocoPhillips Canada Resources Corp.
  • Bernard Roth
    Partner, Dentons Canada LLP
  • Roxanna Benoit
    Vice President, Public Affairs & Communications, Enbridge Pipelines Inc.
  • Stephen Stanley
    Senior Vice President, EPCOR  Commercial Services, EPCOR Utilities Inc.
  • Jason Veenstra
    General Manager, Mining Sales & Marketing, Finning Canada
  • Joe Dion
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Frog Lake Energy Resources Corp.
  • Sunil Joshi
    Vice President, Marketing, Graymont
  • Bob Kerr
    Vice President, Policy & Advocacy, Imperial Oil Ltd.
  • Bryan Kneller
    Senior Vice President, Corporate Development, Ledcor Constructors Inc.
  • Dan Thillman
    Sales Manager – Alberta; Regional Manager, Supplementary Cementitious Materials, Lehigh Cement
  • Noel Roberts
    General Manager – Woodlands, BC and AB, Norbord Inc.
  • Jeff Scammell
    Woodlands Manager, Northland Forest Products Ltd.
  • Steve Cameron
    President, Norwest Corporation
  • Rob Gibb
    Manager, Government Relations and Communications, Repsol Oil & Gas Canada Inc.
  • Peter Zebedee
    General Manager Scotford Manufacturing Complex, Shell Canada Energy
  • Dennis Chmielewski
    Executive Vice President, Mining, SMS Equipment Inc.
  • Colin Foley
    Vice President, Enterprise Risk and Audit, Suncor Energy Inc.
  • Lyndon Chiasson
    Director, Engineering, Energy Division, Teck Resources Limited
  • Lora Brenan
    Managing Director, HR, TransAlta Corporation
  • Norrie Ramsay
    Senior Vice President & Projects, TransCanada Pipelines
  • Tim Doucette
    Vice President, Canadian Operations, Westmoreland Coal Company
  • Fred Dzida
    President, Weyerhauser Company Limited

Resources Library

Information and best practices regarding aspects of resource development in the province.

Learn more

Our Committees

Our Committees do the work necessary to help the resource industries in Alberta reach their goals.

Learn more

Our Members

As a member-driven organization, our members drive the agenda of the Alberta Chamber of Resources. We are here to represent them.

Learn more

Our History

The ACR began life in 1936 as the Alberta and Northwest Chamber of Mines. It was developed to regulate labour and supplies in the mines of Canada’s North, and to promote resource extraction and help put Albertans back to work during the Great Depression. By the Second World War, the Chamber’s scope expanded to include all of the resources industries and, after a series of name changes, the Chamber settled on its present moniker in 1977.

Throughout its history, the ACR has been committed to improving workplace safety, developing innovative solutions and methods, best practices, Indigenous engagement and cross-sector cooperation. We represent resource companies large and small, as well as members who work in engineering, logistics, transportation and other related industries. To learn more about our history, please see the resources listed below.

History Documents

Join the Alberta Chamber of Resources

Join the ACR and work with industry leaders to help enhance the development of Alberta’s vast resources as well as helping support and grow the cornerstone of Alberta’s economy. We’re stronger together—join us!