News & Events

EPCOR & Sherritt Coal (2008)

EPCOR and Sherritt Coal- 2008 Major Reclamation Award Environmental work at Genesee Mine has returned 600 hectares into productive farm land and wildlife habitat, earning the mine partners, EPCOR and Sherritt Coal, the 2008 Alberta Chamber of Resources’ Major Reclamation Award. “We are constantly working toward developing a cleaner future,” said Doreen Cole, EPCOR Vice-President…

Foothills Research Institute (2013)

2013 ENVIRONMENTAL AWARD <strong><span style=”font-size: large;”><br></span></strong>   FOOTHILLS RESEARCH INSTITUTE The Model Forest program began in 1992 and was a Canadian response to address the issue of sustainable forest management. The program encouraged submissions from industrial partners working with a cross-section of partners such as community groups, first nations, government and non-governmental organizations to outline…

Peter Watson (2011)

2011 Resource Person of The Year Peter Watson Following in the tradition of integrity and excellence laid down by Hubert Somerville, pioneer Alberta Deputy Minister of Mines and Minerals (and ACR President, 1976 – 77), Peter Watson has carved out a career of wide-ranging import and impact. His formal commitment to public service began at…

Environmental Forum 2017: Climate Change and Adapting to the Challenges

Responding to the challenges of climate change will fundamentally alter the way we work and do business in Alberta. As this situation evolves, many questions arise as to what the main challenges will be and the solutions. The ACR’s 2017 Environmental Forum, held on March 23, helped bring answers to these questions.

Ian Muirhead Memorial Scholarship (2014-2021)

The Alberta Chamber of Resources Award in Mining Engineering is a $2,000 scholarship awarded on both academic merit and extra-curricular achievements for second-year undergraduate students enrolled in the University of Alberta Faculty of Engineering School of Mining. The scholarships awarded this year are sponsored by the mining companies in the Alberta Chamber of Resources. The…

MIAC Scholarships (2014-2021)

MIAC Scholarship Award Winners 2021 Jared Michael John Gardiyash Mustafa Jafari Grayson Alex Panko Thomas Maxwell Schonewille Keeley Lauren Toope Matthew Walcott 2020 Harjap Bains Mohammed Darwish Dawson Druar Michael Fraughton Jean-Pascal Leclerc Tomas Markoic-Gagne Moustafa Nasser Cliff Shepherd David Young 2019 Isaiah Carleton Syed Mustafa Fasih Austen Gibb Adam Gremm Benjamin Heartt Simon Lala…

Social Acceptance Committee: 2016 Committee Update

Throughout 2016, the Social Acceptance Committee has met to discuss Alberta’s resources industries in relation to the concept of a “triple future,” one that encompasses positive environmental, economic, and social outcomes. This year, the committee has accomplished: In cooperation with other ACR committees and working groups, identifies and shares examples of industry accomplishments and best practices….

COAA: 2017 Committee Update

The Construction Performance Committee operates under a mandate to improve productivity in heavy industrial construction and industrial maintenance. The committee is developing next-generation tools for advanced work packaging, championing the implementation of workface planning and rework reduction strategies, and developing the tools and the culture for incorporating benchmarking into Alberta construction practices.


Meet the Alberta Chamber of Resources

Learn the history of our organization and how the Alberta Chamber of Resources is helping to make resource extraction in our province safer, and more profitable.

Learn More